In the 2006 Wynn Cup Final a horribly wet day at Cowling greeted all with memories for Oakworth of 2001. Prolific Kevin Pollard, a regular scourge of Oaks over the years, and Scott Hudson faced a crowd swelled by a vocal contingent from Earby. First blood went to Oaks off the third ball when Hudson hooked at Scarborough and was snapped up by the extensive hands of Chris White. Richard Craddock (2) was unable to come to terms with the greasy conditions and Tim Walsh made no mistake. The entrance of former Earby all-rounder Matt Nutter was met with raucous calls to take the fight to Oaks but he too struggled to move the tins. Pressure changes everything and a quick single proved impossible and Pollard was run out after a 67 ball vigil of 23 runs at 55-3. David Holt injected some immediacy for Thornton taking 13 in a 22-run stand with Nutter. If Jonny Wilman expected a little respite he was sadly misled as his 13 ball stay brought a single before he offered a caught & bowled to Jason Bilbrough.

Nutter, after a flurry of five boundaries went back into his shell and former Oakworth cricketer Jason Lockley mustered just five singles before Tim Walsh took his and Jason's second at 91-6. Rob Foster joined a quiescent Nutter, edging forward with singles. The former Earby high flyer reached 49 but a tremendous overhead catch from Luke Scott stopped him short of his fifty. Rob Foster thrashed out taking two sixes and a four to speed proceedings. The final Thornton tally was 122 with Jason Bilbrough pocketing 4-34, Michael Scarborough 4-25 and keeper Tim Walsh 4 catches.

Steve Hartley and Drew Duffy were not about to throw away a seeming advantage and three successive maidens confirmed no early pyrotechnics despite the exhortations. The seventh over from Richard Craddock proved significant as first Drew (1) and then Joel Gallagher (0) were both clean bowled. Michael Scarborough came to the crease to join Steve in yet another partnership in a long line back to 1988. Hartley took 23 balls to get off the mark and Michael scored just 6 off his first 24. But understanding was there; no heroics despite the crescendo from the crowd. Hartley was successful with 21 but was clean bowled by Matt Nutter to the squeals of delight from his fan club. Luke Scott made 9 to push the tally to 55-4. Chris White took an anticipated six from the pace of Mark Paxton but was adjudged lbw to Steve Laycock making 10 from 10 balls. At 76-5 Oakworth faced a similar situation to that of Thornton. First season man Matt Green elected to live dangerously for 26 balls adding 28 with a steadfast Scarborough. Their partnership took Oaks to 104-6, requiring 19 to win with 10 overs in which to get them. 16 balls later it was all over after Michael resisted temptation to go aerial and stroked three match winning fours to take Oaks passed the winning post with 6.3 overs in hand. Michael Scarborough's excellent knock of 59 no included 7 fours & 2 sixes and he deservedly took the man of the match award,

So Oakworth claimed their fifth Wynn Cup to add to those of 1995, 2001, 2003 & 2004.

Thornton-in-Craven 122 all out, Oakworth 123-6

The 2006 Wynn Cup winners: OAKWORTH CC

back row:

Cathy Duffy (scorer), Michael Scarborough, Andy Dawson, Luke Scott, Jason Bilbrough, Drew Duffy, Graham Rankin

front row:

Joel Gallagher, Matt Green, Tim Walsh (Capt), Chris White, Steve Hartley

Man-of-the -Match Michael Scarborough for his 59 no and 4 wickets



Jason Bilbrough took a vital 4 wickets to help Oaks take the Cup